Medicine in the Movies Blogathon Announcement! May 26 – 28, 2017

Hi to all! As many of you know, I am quite new to the blogging world. I just started in November, but I have been enjoying it so much. One of the best parts of blogging is connecting with others online who share and love very similar interests, and I have been finding that blogathons are such a great way to do that ๐Ÿ™‚

I decided to launch my own blogathon with a bit of an offbeat topic. I have always found the topic of “medicine” and its varied portrayal in movies and visual media quite fascinating, as I have a background in public health and medicine. Some portrayals are quite accurate, such as the brilliant TV show Scrubs. Others are not so accurate. Either way, many are entertaining and extremely heartfelt.

 

oie_82VB75vehCW6

So please feel free to write about any movie where there is some relation to medicine! For example, the main characters may be physicians or nurses, or they may be patients and family members dealing with illness.

Duplicates will be allowed but no more than two per movie or topic. However, you are welcome to write more than one post!

Please let me know which movie you wish to discuss! You can post your topic in the comment section below, send me a message through the “Contact” section of my blog, or send me a message through Facebook via the following link: https://www.facebook.com/charsmoviereviews/ย I will keep an updated list! Please note the name of your blog and the url. Once your topic is confirmed, please use one of the pictures in this post to spread the word about this blogathon, and please tag “Medicine in the Movies” on the day which you decide to post.

I am excited about this! Happy blogging ๐Ÿ™‚

The List So Far

Charlene’s (Mostly) Classic Movie Reviewsย –ย A Woman Under the Influence (1974)

Cinematic Scribblingsย –ย The Wild Child (1970)

Maddylovesherclassicfilmsย –ย The Nun’s Story (1959)

Tranquil Dreamsย – My Sister’s Keeper (2009)

The Movie Ratย –ย The Diving Bell and the Butterfly (2007)

I Found it at the Moviesย –ย All That Jazz (1979)

Silver Screeningsย –ย Night Nurse (1931)

Moon In Geminiย –ย Madame Bovary (1949)

Picture Show Girlย –ย High and Dizzy (1920)ย andย Dr. Jack (1922)

Realweegiemidgetย –ย K-PAX (2001)

In The Good Old Days Of Classic Hollywoodย – Judy Garland’s struggle with addiction andย Life with Judy Garland: Me and My Shadows (2001)

That William Powell Siteย –ย Arrowsmith (1931)

Movie Movie Blog Blogย –ย A Day at the Races (1937)

Movies Silentlyย –ย Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde (1912)

Champagne for Lunchย –ย Grounds for Marriage (1951)

The Motion Picturesย –ย Eyewitness (1956)

The Midnite Drive-Inย –ย Monk (2002 – 2009)

dbmoviesblogย –ย Spellbound (1945)

Thoughts All Sortsย –ย Tombstone (1993)

oie_ZTy4flwfBkwK

 

oie_x8KTlPj7fSnV

 

oie_iKJLBLMpK3du

 

oie_yqU5SVcKigzS

 

57 thoughts on “Medicine in the Movies Blogathon Announcement! May 26 – 28, 2017

  1. Hello ๐Ÿ™‚ I’m quite new to film blogging, but would love to contribute to this blogathon! My blog is pictureshowgirl and I’d like to write about Harold Lloyd’s short film High and Dizzy if short films are allowed! I’d also like to write about Lloyd’s Dr Jack (feature length) if it’s okay to do two. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Charlene: If you would like to publicize your blogathon, I would suggest you make some “publicity banners” for it. Then, the participants can grab a banner, post it on their blogs, and link it back to your blog. If you are wondering what a banner looks like, look at the latest entry on my blog, where I’ve posted some banners for my upcoming blogathon.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Interesting idea for a blogathon. A few questions. Is psychosis a legitimate theme or does it have to be a physical ailment that requires some kind of physical medicine? And does it actually have to be a movie? The reason I ask is Adrian Monk’s OCD tendencies and his visits with his psychiatrist in the TV series “Monk” came to my mind immediately, as did the George C. Scott film “They Might Be Giants” (he thinks he’s Sherlock Holmes…) There are any number of other movies that involve mentally unstable patients (or ones who are thought to be mentally unstable; Bruce Willis’ character in 12 Monkeys was from the future but he was thought to be insane by present day doctors ) And lets not forget One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest. Maybe I just have insanity on the brain…

    Like

    • Hey! So anything psychiatry-related is fair game ๐Ÿ™‚ And if you want to write about Monk, go right ahead! Or you can write about more than one topic!

      I am writing about one of my favourite movies portraying mental illness for this blogathon (A Woman Under the Influence). I am very passionate about mental health as well as its portrayal /representation in media, and I welcome any entry or discussion related to that for this blogathon ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    • I won’t have time for more than one topic. I am co-hosting the Favorite Director blogathon with Phyllis. But I would love to dedicate an overview of the “Monk” TV series, as it relates to Adrian Monk’s OCD and how he deals with his psychiatrist. I will either cover the span of the series or I may focus on one particular episode as an example. (There are a couple in which he spends most of the episode in direct contact with the psychiatrist). This will be fun. I have the entire series on DVD and I myself even have a few OCD tendencies (although not nearly to the extreme of Adrian Monk.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Awesome! Sounds good. I will write you in, and you can discuss whatever you want – all the ideas sound really interesting.

        I am also looking forward to the Favourite Director blogathon! I am writing about an Ingmar Bergman movie – my all-time favourite director for sure.

        Like

Leave a Reply

